My domain’s email via Gmail

May 31st, 2008 | No Comments

I was tinkering with my estancabigas.com domain’s primary email address at dreamhost.com and look at what i found: I can use this personal email via Gmail! Now, that is convenience.

Tags: ,

Strike 2: My HP notebook computer is busted

May 24th, 2008 | No Comments

For the second time, my HP notebook computer went puft! And my biggest problem is that it is already out of warranty. I think, it is the same problem last December wherein the motherboard was replaced. Darn! Just four months after that repair and its again defective. I’ll have to call HP’s line this Monday. To think that I still have two pending projects and one has to be submitted this Monday!

Tags: ,

Sub-$200 PC to be introduced by Lenovo

October 12th, 2007 | No Comments

It seems Lenovo has an ace up its sleeve with its planned introduction this year of a sub-$200 PC for the masses! Actually, it has been selling this kind of computer in China for about $190 and as what the CEO David Miller said, they are successful at it.

Will a stripped down PC version fare well here?

Tags:

Cataloging RAW photo files

September 23rd, 2007 | 5 Comments

freeagent I’ve been busy the past few days copying my RAW photo files into a portable drive in order to catalog and organize these into a system that is searchable so that finding photos would be easy instead of going over lots and lots of DVD discs. And if you’re going to handle more than 100 x 4.7Gb of data (my files almost breaks the 500Gb level –> with photos that I’ve taken since 2003), its no easy task.

The whole business of cataloging photos becomes easier with Adobe’s Lightroom. If it happens that I will own a Mac, I would still prefer this one compared with Apple’s Aperture software. Other than a much affordable price, its much better, as what I have read.

Now, the whole task of organizing like copying from DVD to a newly purchased Seagate FreeAgent 500Gb into Lightroom and keywording stands before me.

Tags:

Another text scam

April 21st, 2007 | 25 Comments

Early this morning I got a text/SMS message:

Congratulations ur sim #hadwon Php900, 000.00 From Casino Filipino during our 23d anniversary electronic raffle drw 4 more info call me now I’m Atty. Cindy A. Morales DTI permit#3777 series/2007…

The mobile number of the sender is +6391976677293.

It is easy to know that this is a scam since the originating number is a mobile number, not a special 3 or 4 number code.

More »

Tags: ,